Original History Archive

About Us – NCRG History

The club originally was started by a small advert in the local newspaper – here it is courtesy of an old member)

NCRG 1st meeting - Original clipping

Here is an article written by one of our members when the Northern Corridor Radio Group started up. It was printed in Amateur Radio magazine in February 1986. It explains something of the club history. When one of our group historians can research some further items for this page it’ll get updated with further information. Nick now has the callsign VK6ND, Wesley is VK6WX, Rob is now VK6XRE and Phil VK6ABL can probably still be heard on 160m CW!


The original shack at Carine is no more. It was dismantled in 2004 and a lot of negotiation and work has been put into creating a new meeting place, shack and radio system for the Club located at Whiteman Park (see  QTH – where are we ).

The construction of the current shack and premises was made possible by a lot of different members.

Click here to see ‘from start to finish’ a pictorial history..

The Volunteers:

It seems many have forgotten who was an office bearer over the many years of the club history – Here’s what we have so far  *indicates confirmed – ? indicates “who can remember?”.

Year President Secretary Treasurer
1986/87 John Howlett VK6ATA* Peter Hacket VK6PK?
1987/88 John Howlett VK6ATA* Peter Hacket VK6PK? Alek Petkovic VK6APK*
1988/89 John Howlett VK6ATA Tony Lumley VK6ZTL? Dennis March VK6ZN?
1989/90 John Howlett VK6ATA
1990/91 John Howlett VK6ZN
1991/92 John Howlett VK6ZN Darragh Wills VK6ZDW
1992/93 Phil Jamieson VK6ZPP Darragh Wills VK6ZDW*
1993/94 Darragh Wills VK6ZDW John Coleman VK6NU*
1994/95 Duncan Page VK6ZDP* Tony Jenkinson VK6ZDJ John Coleman VK6NU*
1995/96 Keith Bainbridge VK6XH* Tony Jenkinson VK6ZDJ* Phil Jamieson VK6ZPP*
1996/97 Mel Bishop VK6TVA* James McBride VK6FJA* Brian Field VK6BQN
1997/98 Bill Billington VK6UE James McBride VK6FJA* Brian Field VK6BQN*
1998/99 James McBride VK6FJA* Greg Webb VK6JGW* Brian Field VK6BQN*
1999/00 Greg Webb VK6JGW Tim Jones VK6EI* James McBride VK6FJA*
2000/01 Trevor Ward VK6HTW* Greg Webb VK6JGW* James McBride VK6FJA*
2001/02 Trevor Ward VK6HTW* Greg Webb VK6JGW / FJA* Richard Burden VK6TT
2002/03 Bob Daines VK6TRA* James McBride VK6FJA* Trevor Ward VK6HTW*
2003/04 Bob Daines VK6TRA* Richard Burden VK6TT* John Ferrington VK6HZ*
2004/05 Dave Croasdale VK6YEL* Jack Borthen VK6KDX* John Ferrington VK6HZ*
2005/06 ?? ?? ??
2006/07 ?? ?? ??
2007/08 ?? ?? ??
2008/09 ?? ?? ??
2009/10* Wayne Johnson VK6EH John Sparkes VK6JX Andrew Albinson VK6IA
2010/11 ?? ?? Anthony Lumley VK6AL
2011/12* Ian VK6TWJ Wayne Johnson VK6EH Anthony Lumley VK6AL
2012/13* Keith Bainbridge VK6RK Wayne Johnson VK6EH Anthony Lumley VK6AL
2013/14* Stuart Bedford VK6LSB Wayne Johnson VK6EH James McBride VK6FJA
2014/15* Stuart Bedford VK6LSB Ian Connel VK6ZIC James McBride VK6FJA
2015/16* Anthony Lumley VK6AL James McBride VK6FJA BD/YA/LOL
2016/17* Anthony Lumley VK6AL Chris Pfiel VK6LOL James McBride VK6FJA
2017/18 Tim Jones VK6EI Chris Pfiel VK6LOL James McBride VK6FJA
2018/19 Tim Jones VK6EI Chris Pfiel VK6LOL James McBride VK6FJA
2019/20 Tim Jones VK6EI Chris Pfiel VK6LOL Anthony Lumley VK6AL
2020/21 ??? ??? ???


Download a copy of “Spectrum” – the NCRG annual booklet (from 1995!) (1Mb)   Spectrum-Vol1Issue1

Download a copy of the “Year book 1992 -1993” produced by the NCRG (1.2Mb)   WA-Amateur-Radio-Yearbook-1992-1993

Once upon a time, a Perth radio station allowed clubs and organisations to get their name on a sticker with which they could then put on the back of their cars. I wonder if anyone remembers this one from the NCRG?


Here’s a Hamfest Flyer from 1992… there are more old ones out there, they will be added to this page when they get found I’m sure…


Finally, here is an old Field Day photo from about 1989…


We think it's the best Amateur Radio Club in VK